Google Team Drives Overview

Google Team Drives are a new feature in Google's G Suite. It offers shared space in Google Drive where teams can create, store, search, collaborate on, and have access to all their team-owned files. The difference between a Team Drive and My Drive is that all data (files, folders, spreadsheets, forms, and presentations) are owned by the team and not an individual.

More Secure Data for your Team

Team membership changes for a variety of reasons, providing the potential for loss of team data. Because files are owned collectively by the team, no content within any Team Drive folder is individually owned. This makes team data more secure and consistently available to all.

Team Drives Membership

Any U-M Google account can create a Team Drive. Select Team Drives, under My Drive, and click New to get started. We recommend that each Google Team Drive be named with your department's Active Directory prefix or generally recognized prefix. (Example: ITS | Service Center)

When a Team Drive is created, the individual who created the Team Drive(s) will be given the Manager role (see more about permission levels in Team Drive in the chart below.) That individual will then have the ability to add other individuals or MCommunity groups as members to the Team Drive.

When individuals join or leave an MCommunity group, access to the appropriate Team Drives will also be given or taken away, making MCommunity an effective way to manage Team Drives membership.

By default, the Content Manager role is given when an individual or MCommunity group is added to a Team Drive. We recommend only giving a few people the Manager role as that is the highest possible and most access allowed in Team Drives.

Members/Permissions Manager Content Manager Contributor Commenter Viewer
Can view files and folders X X X X X
Can comment on files X X X X  
Can make/approve/reject edits X X X    
Can create/upload files and create folders X X X    
Can share files with others outside the team X X X    
Can add/remove members X        
Ability to move files/folders X X      
Ability to delete files/folders X X      
Ability to restore files/folders X X X    
Ability to rename Team Drive X        
Ability to delete Team Drive X        
Modify Team Drive settings X        
Empty Team Drive trash X        
Restore files from trash X X X    
Last Updated: 
Friday, September 22, 2017