Zoom at U-M is provided to all active faculty, staff, and students on the Ann Arbor, Dearborn, and Flint campuses - including Michigan Medicine. Alumni, retirees, and employees whose U-M employment ends will lose access. If you are to lose access, you will receive an email notice 30 days before your access ends. This document explains what steps to take before you leave the university and lose access to your U-M Zoom account.
Warning: Sponsored affiliates will not receive a notification before their access ends.
Note: U-M Zoom accounts remain intact for emeritus/emerita faculty who retain all standard computing services. For details, refer to 19.K Emeritus/Emerita Status in the U-M Faculty Handbook.
For more detailed information on what happens when someone leaves U-M, see Leaving U-M.
Retaining Your Files
Before your affiliation with U-M ends, be sure to save all of your Zoom recordings to another location. You can sign up for a free basic Zoom account to continue using Zoom.
Note: You will lose access to any future scheduled Zoom meetings under your U-M account when you change affiliation. You will need to reschedule them in a personal Zoom account.
ITS recommends saving your Zoom recordings to your computer.
An uncooperative departure is when the affected U-M person cannot be relied on to assist with their departure.
If the departure involves an uncooperative employee, the best practice is to involve ITS User Advocate as soon as possible by emailing email@example.com.
With User Advocate involvement, Zoom Administrators can assist in:
- Preserve the contents of a Zoom account.
- Suspend the Zoom account’s access sooner than the automated process.
- If time-critical, download university data from the person’s Zoom account.