U-M Dropbox accounts are available to all active faculty, staff, students, and Type-1 sponsored affiliates on the Ann Arbor, Dearborn, and Flint campuses and Michigan Medicine. You will lose access immediately after your active affiliation at the university changes (i.e., after graduation, after the last day of employment, etc.). This document explains what steps to take before you leave the university and lose access to your U-M Dropbox account.
Warning: Sponsored affiliates will not receive a notification before their access ends.
Note: U-M Dropbox accounts remain intact for emeritus/emerita faculty who retain all standard computing services. For details, refer to 19.K Emeritus/Emerita Status in the U-M Faculty Handbook.
Important: @umich.edu and other UMICH email addresses (including MCommunity groups) cannot be used to create personal Dropbox accounts.
For more detailed information on what happens when someone leaves U-M, refer to Leaving U-M.
Before You Leave U-M
Before your affiliation with U-M ends, be sure to:
- Download all personal files/folders to another location.
- Change ownership of folders containing personal data to another personal Dropbox account (if you would prefer not to download your personal data).
- Reassign ownership of files/folders containing university data (sensitive and non-sensitive) to another individual at the university or a Team Folder.
An uncooperative departure is when the affected U-M person cannot be relied on to assist with their departure.
If the departure involves an uncooperative employee, the best practice is to involve ITS User Advocate as soon as possible by emailing [email protected].
With User Advocate involvement, U-M Dropbox administrators can assist in:
- Preserving the contents of a Dropbox account.
- Changing the ownership of Dropbox files/folders from one account to another.
- Suspending the Dropbox account’s access sooner than the automated process.
- If time critical, downloading university data from the person’s Dropbox account.