How to Use the Box-to-Dropbox Self-Service Migration Tool

Table of Contents

Overview

As of November 14, 2021, U-M no longer offers Box as a storage solution, and all migrations have ceased.

You will use the ITS Self-Service Migration tool to move your U-M Box individual account and Shared Account data into U-M Dropbox. This document outlines and walks you through how to use the tool depending on your need.

Migrate Your Shared Account

U-M Box Shared Account owners received an email notification from ITS on May 25 informing them that they are assigned as the key person to migrate this account.

​Important: Before starting the migration process, ensure you have created the MCommunity group you would like to assign as the owner of your new U-M Dropbox Team Folder. If you are planning to use an existing MCommunity group, you do not need to create a new one for the purpose of creating a Team Folder. As a reminder, external users and subgroups within an MCommunity group do not sync with U-M Dropbox. You will need to invite them individually at the file and subfolder level. Furthermore, everyone, including owners, needs to be a "member" of the MCommunity group in order to gain access to the data in Dropbox.

Warning: You must schedule the migration of any Shared Accounts for which you are responsible before scheduling your individual account migration.

If you would like to migrate your U-M Box Shared Account, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the ITS Box-to-Dropbox Self-Service Migration Tool.
  2. Click the “Migrate Shared Account” button.

Two people icon, blue button below it. Text in button says "Migrate Shared Account"

Note: If you are not assigned as the key person to migrate a U-M Box Shared Account, you will not see this button on your main page. If you believe you should see this button, contact your department’s Unit Ambassador.

  1. Select the appropriate college/business division from the drop-down menu under “What College or Business Division will own this Team Folder?
  2. Select the MCommunity group you would like to use for the Team Folder from the “What MCommunity Group should have ownership to this Team Folder?” drop-down menu. (You will only see the MCommunity groups you own in the drop-down.)

Note: You do not need to use the same MCommunity group associated with the U-M Box Shared Account. You can choose any MCommunity group as long as you are an owner of that group, it has members and it was created before using the tool.

  1. Enter a name for your Team Folder in the “Provide a name for your Team Folder” field. (The name you choose does not need to match the current name of the Shared Account. Additionally, do not add your departmental prefix if you had already selected it from the "What College of Business Division will own this Team Folder?" drop-down.)
  2. Select “I Confirm” from the “Please confirm your Team Folder information is correct” drop-down menu. 
  3. Select the Shared Account you would like to migrate from the “Name of Shared Account to migrate” drop-down menu.
  4. Enter the exact name of the Shared Account you selected in the “Validate the name of your Shared Account in the field below” field.
  5. Select the date you would like to schedule your migration from the “Select a date to start your migration” drop-down menu. 

Caution: You will be unable to change your migration date once you have confirmed and submitted the form.

  1. Confirm that the date you have selected is correct and select “I Confirm” from the “Please confirm your migration information is correct” drop-down menu.
  2. Click Submit. You will then be taken back to the main page of the tool.

You will receive an email confirmation when you schedule your migration. After your migration has completed, you will receive another email informing you that your migration has completed with a link to a post-migration report that includes information on any sharing errors, file and folder permission changes, and files shared with you.

Migrate Your Individual Account

Warning: You must schedule the migration of any Shared Accounts for which you are responsible before scheduling your individual account migration. If you have no Shared Accounts assigned to you, then you may proceed.

If you would like to migrate your U-M Box individual account, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the ITS Box-to-Dropbox Self-Service Migration Tool.
  2. Click “Migrate my account.”

Person icon, blue button below it. Text in button says "Migrate my account"

  1. Select the date you would like to schedule your migration from the “Select a date to start your migration” drop-down menu. 

Caution: You will be unable to change your migration date once you have confirmed and submitted the form.

  1. Confirm that the date you have selected is correct and select “I Confirm” from the “Please confirm your migration information is correct” drop-down menu.
  2. Click Submit. You will then be taken back to the main page of the tool.

You will receive an email confirmation when you schedule your migration. After your migration has completed, you will receive another email informing you that your migration has completed with a link to a post-migration report that includes information on any sharing errors, file and folder permission changes, and files shared with you.

Delete Your Account

Warning: There is no way for us to recover your U-M Box account if you choose to delete it.

If you would like to delete your U-M Box individual account and all the data within it, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the ITS Box-to-Dropbox Self-Service Migration Tool.
  2. Click “Delete my U-M Box account.”

Red skull and crossbones icon, red button below it. Text in button says "Delete my U-M Box account"

  1. Check the Confirmation checkbox.
  2. Click Delete my U-M Box Account. You will then be taken back to the main page of the tool.

You will receive an email confirmation after deleting your U-M Box account.

Warning: There is no way for us to recover your U-M Box account if you choose to delete it.

Additional Resources

Last Updated: 
Tuesday, December 7, 2021