Convert Your Classic Google Sites to New Sites

Table of Contents

Overview

Google announced their timeline for retiring classic Google Sites and replacing it with new Sites. This document provides details on how to tell if a classic Google Site can be converted to a new Google Site and instructions on how to convert a classic Google Site to a new Google Site.

Important: Only one person can be the owner of a new Google Site. Therefore, whichever owner of your classic Google Site converts the site is now the main owner and all other owners become Editors.

Can I Convert My Classic Site?

Most classic Google Sites can be converted to new Sites. To check whether your classic Site can be converted:

  1. Go to classic Google Sites and select a classic Site. (If you do not see any sites listed, you do not own any classic Sites.)
  2. Click the gear icon in the upper-right corner.
  3. Select Manage site from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select Convert to new Sites from the left menu. If this text does not appear, you will not be able to easily convert your classic Site to new Sites.

If you cannot convert your classic Site, you will need to create a new Site and manually copy your classic Site’s content to the new site.

Note: If you are a U-M classic Google Sites owner using a non-UMICH email address, verify there is another owner with an @umich.edu email address associated with the Site. If there is no UMICH email address associated, you will not be able to convert the site from your non-UMICH account.

Convert Using the Classic Sites Manager Tool

Google developed the Classic Sites Manager tool to support users throughout the migration process. You can use the tool to delete, archive, or convert your sites. To use the Classic Sites Manager tool:

  1. Go to classic Google Sites.
  2. Select Classic Sites Manager from the left menu. 
  3. Click on the space between the Name and Owner(s) columns for the classic Site you want to convert.
  4. Click Conversion tool in the right sidebar that appears.
  5. Check the "Share with the same people" box to keep the same site permissions and click Start.

Note: It may take several minutes to convert large sites.

You will receive an email when your converted site is ready to review in the new Google Sites. However, it shouldn’t take more than a few minutes if you would like to stay on the page. After your site has been converted: 

  1. Click Continue.
  2. Click Review draft to review your new Site.
  3. Review the draft site and click Publish in the upper-right corner if you would like to publish your new Site.
  4. Select the web address for your new Site: “Use existing site address” or “Create new address.”
  5. Click MANAGE under “Who can view my site” to change who can view your site.
  6. Click Publish.

​Important: After conversion, changes you make to your original Site won't transfer to the new one.

Refer to Google’s guide to learn more about how to use the Classic Sites Manager tool.

Convert From Classic Sites Settings

To convert your classic Google Site from the settings menu:

  1. Go to classic Google Sites and select a classic Site. (If you do not see any sites listed, you do not own any classic Sites.)
  2. Click the gear icon in the upper-right corner.
  3. Select Manage site from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select Convert to new Sites from the left menu.
  5. Check the "Share with the same people" box to keep the same site permissions and click Start.

Note: It may take several minutes to convert large sites.

You will receive an email when your converted site is ready to review in the new Google Sites. However, it shouldn’t take more than a few minutes if you would like to stay on the page. After your site has been converted: 

  1. Click Continue.
  2. Click Review draft to review your new Site.
  3. Review the draft site and click Publish in the upper-right corner if you would like to publish your new Site.
  4. Select the web address for your new Site: “Use existing site address” or “Create new address.”
  5. Click MANAGE under “Who can view my site” to change who can view your site.
  6. Click Publish.

​Important: After conversion, changes you make to your original Site won't transfer to the new one.

Manually Copy Your Classic Site to New Sites

If you cannot convert your classic Site, you will need to create a new Site and manually copy your classic Site’s content to the new site. To create a new Google Site and copy your classic Site content:

  1. Go to new Google Sites.
  2. Select Blank or another template at the top under "Start a new site."
  3. Click the Pages tab from the right menu.
  4. Click the round plus sign button at the bottom of the right menu and click New page.
  5. Enter a name for the new page in the Name field.
  6. Copy and paste content from your classic Site to the corresponding new Site pages.
  7. Repeat steps four through six as necessary.
  8. Enter a web address for your new Site in the Web address field.
  9. Click MANAGE under “Who can view my site” to change who can view your site.
  10. Click Publish.

Tip: Add a link on your classic Site to send people to your new Site.

Additional Resources

Last Updated: 
Monday, April 26, 2021