This document provides information on the different circumstances under which sharing may not have been reestablished for certain files/folders and details as to why some file permissions changed during the Box-to-Dropbox migration process. (To view your migrated files and folder, go to dropbox.umich.edu.)
Note: We are unable to give more information on either of these issues beyond what is provided in your Share Data Report and this supporting documentation article.
The Sharing Errors tab provides a list of file paths, corresponding uniqnames of users, and details where sharing was not reestablished during the migration process. If appropriate, these files/folders will need to be re-shared with the corresponding individuals listed under the User column.
Possible scenarios where sharing was not reestablished during the migration process:
- The user is no longer at the University of Michigan.
- The user does not have a U-M Dropbox Account.
- The file/folder was shared with an external user.
- The file/folder was shared with a Shared Account. (This does not mean files/folders within a Shared Account.)
- The file was a shared Box Note converted to a Microsoft Word document (.docx) during the migration process.
File Permission Changes
The File Permission Changes tab provides a list of file names and corresponding uniqnames of users who previously had Editor access on a U-M Box file, but now have Can view access on the file in U-M Dropbox. U-M Dropbox does not offer Can edit access at the file level. These files will need to be moved into a folder and the appropriate users will need to be given Can edit access at the folder level to be able to edit the files.
Folder Permission Changes
The Folder Permissions Changes tab provides a list of file names and corresponding uniqnames of users who previously had sharing permissions on a subfolder that were different from the permission level set at the parent folder. These permissions did not migrate, and the individual(s) listed were removed during the migration process.
Files Shared With Me
The Files Shared with me tab provides a list of file paths for files/folders shared with you (of which you are not the owner) and corresponding uniqnames of users who need to migrate for you to see the files in U-M Dropbox. Once the user who owns the files migrates to U-M Dropbox, your access will be reestablished.