Microsoft Teams: Create & Manage a Team

This information applies only to the campus instance of Microsoft Teams. See the Michigan Medicine HITS Microsoft 365 project site for more information about the Michigan Medicine instance of Microsoft Teams.

In order to create a new team in Microsoft Teams, you must first be the owner of an M-Community group. New teams are created based on your selected M-Community group, and the team’s membership is automatically synchronized based on the membership of the M-Community group.

Once a team is created, you can add new members to the team by adding them to the associated M-Community group, or remove them from the team by removing them from the M-Community group. New members will be added to / removed from the team during the automatic system refresh (within 24 hours).  If you don’t wish to wait for the automatic system refresh, you can manually re-synchronize team membership information.

Follow the instructions below the video or view the video tutorial (3 minutes).

Create a New Team

  1. Go to teammate.euc.it.umich.edu and log in with your uniqname and UMICH (Level-1) password. Complete Duo Two-Factor authentication if prompted.
  2. Click Create New Team.

  1. Click the drop-down menu and select the M-Community group you’d like to associate with the team. If you don’t see your desired M-Community group, click Refresh Groups and then repeat step 3.
  2. Click Create Team.

View Team Members

  1. Open Microsoft Teams. The desktop client is shown in the following example.
  2. Click Teams in the navigation bar, and then select your team to open it.
  3. Click the ellipses menu, and then select Manage team.

Owners and Members are listed (see below). If there are members of the associated M-Community group missing from the team, manually re-synchronize the membership of your team.

 Important!   Do not add team members manually within Microsoft Teams. Members added manually within the Teams application are temporary and will be removed from the team during the next M-Community synchronization (within 24 hours). See instructions for adding members to an existing team.

Add or Remove Team Members

New members can be added to or removed from an existing team by adding them to the associated M-Community group or removing them from it. Team membership re-synchronizes during the automatic system refresh (within 24 hours). If you do not wish to wait for the automatic system refresh, you can manually re-synchronize team membership.

Manually Re-synchronize Team Membership

  1. Go to teammate.euc.it.umich.edu and log in with your uniqname and UMICH (Level-1) password. Complete Duo Two-Factor authentication if prompted.
  2. Select your desired team from the list that displays.

  1. Click Re-Synchronize and wait for the process to complete.

Delete a Team

  1. Go to teammate.euc.it.umich.edu and log in with your uniqname and UMICH (Level-1) password. Complete Duo Two-Factor authentication if prompted.
  2. Select your desired team from the list that displays.

  1. Click Delete Team.

  1. Click the verification checkbox, and then click Delete.

Last Updated: 
Wednesday, January 20, 2021