U-M Dropbox is provided to active faculty, staff, students, and sponsored affiliates (Type 1). You will lose access immediately after your active affiliation at the university changes (i.e., after graduation, after the last day of employment, etc.). If you are to lose access, you will receive an email notice 30 days before your access ends. This document explains what steps to take before you leave the university and lose access to your U-M Dropbox account.
Note: U-M Dropbox accounts remain intact for emeritus/emerita faculty who retain all standard computing services. For details, see 19.K Emeritus/Emerita Status in the U-M Faculty Handbook.
Important: @umich.edu email addresses and MCommunity groups cannot be used to create personal Dropbox accounts.
For more detailed information on what happens when someone leaves U-M, refer to Leaving U-M.
Before You Leave U-M:
Before your affiliation with U-M ends, be sure to download and save all personal files in Dropbox to another location, as detailed below.
- Download all personal files/folders.
- Change ownership of folders containing personal data to another personal Dropbox account (if you would prefer not to download your personal data).
An uncooperative departure is when the affected U-M person cannot be relied on to assist with their departure.
With User Advocate involvement, U-M Dropbox administrators can assist in:
- Preserving the contents of a Dropbox account.
- Changing the ownership of Dropbox files/folders from one account to another.
- Suspending the Dropbox account’s access sooner than the automated process.
- If time critical, downloading university data from the person’s Dropbox account.