Dropbox: Folder Settings and Permissions

Overview

This document explains how folder settings and permissions function in U-M Dropbox.

Folder Types

You should familiarize yourself with the different types of folders in U-M Dropbox.

Folder ImageDescription
Dropbox private, unshared folder iconType: Private folder
Owned by: You
Icon: None
Dropbox shared folder iconType: Shared folder
Owned by: You or someone at U-M
Icon: People
Dropbox shared, external folder iconType: External folder
Owned by: Someone outside U-M
Icon: People
Dropbox Team Folder iconType: Team Folder
Owned by: MCommunity group
Icon: Building
Dropbox Team Folder with read-only access iconType: Team Folder (with read-only access)
Owned by: MCommunity group
Icon: Building with a lock

Folder Sharing

Shared links

Shared links provide a useful way to quickly share a file or folder with the appropriate individuals without inviting them directly to the content. You can create separate links for edit and view access (one for each). The link settings for each appear slightly different, but overall, the experiences are similar.

Caution: There are several caveats to using shared links that you should be aware of:

  • If you remove someone's access and they still have the folder shared link, they could regain access (depending on the access level set). To prevent them from regaining access, someone with edit access to the folder should also delete the link. Learn how to remove a link to a folder.
  • If someone you've shared a folder link with has joined that folder with their Dropbox account, the link permissions you set will no longer apply. Learn about joining shared folders.
  • You can't create a shared link to a restricted subfolder in a Team Folder. "Restricted" means the subfolder has been shared with only select individuals and not the entire Team Folder membership, so only the individuals invited to the subfolder will have access to it.
  • If the link recipient is a member of an external Dropbox Team account (i.e., not U-M), their ability to edit content depends on their Team's permissions.
  • Dropbox has moved to an updated shared link architecture where links are based on content rather than individual users. This affects how links are created and shared. For more information on the change, refer to Dropbox: New Shared Link Format.

Link for editing

By default, when you click "Copy link" in the sharing dialog box, it creates a link with edit access and sets that access to "Only people invited."

Note: If you share with someone without a Dropbox account, they'll only be able to preview the folder (as if they had view-only access).

Access levels

There are three access levels you can assign to an edit access shared link (depending on your access to the folder):

  • Anyone with link

    The link is editable by anyone who has access to it. Use caution when choosing this option.

  • Team members

    The link is editable by anyone at the University of Michigan with a U-M Dropbox account. This option will require users to sign in to their U-M Dropbox account.

  • Only people invited

    The link is editable by only the individuals shared on the folder.

    Caution: Do not choose this option if the user you intend to invite does not have a Dropbox account.

Link for viewing

To create a view access link, open the sharing settings for your folder, click the Link for viewing tab, and click Create link.

Access levels

There are four access levels you can assign to a view access shared link (depending on your access to the folder):

  • Anyone with link

    The link is viewable by anyone who has access to it. Use caution when choosing this option.

  • Team members

    The link is viewable by anyone at the University of Michigan with a U-M Dropbox account. This option will require users to sign in to their U-M Dropbox account.

  • People with password

    The link is viewable by anyone who has the password. When someone opens the link, they'll need the password to view its contents.

  • Only people invited

    The link is viewable by only the individuals shared on the folder.

    Caution: Do not choose this option if the user you intend to invite does not have a Dropbox account.

Additional settings

There are three additional settings you can apply to shared links:

  • Add a password
  • Set an expiration date
  • Disable downloads (Only available on viewable links)

    Note: Disabling downloads for a shared link prevents people from downloading the contents of a link through Dropbox. This doesn't prevent people from saving the content using other methods.

For more information on shared links and how to use them, refer to U-M's Share Files/Folders Using Shared Links and Dropbox's How to share a link to a Dropbox file or folder.

Subfolders

Shared folders and Team Folders have similar sharing structures for subfolders within the parent-level folder.

Shared folder subfolders

Team Folder subfolders

Subfolders in a Dropbox Team Folder can be shared with MCommunity groups, external (non-UM) users, and users who are not members of the Team Folder.

You will find two options when creating subfolders in a Team Folder. However, there are specific scenarios where you can only select the initial option during creation. Refer below for detailed information

  • Everyone with access to [Team Folder Name]

    All Team Folder members (i.e., the members of the MCommunity group used at the parent level) will have access to the subfolder.

  • Only specific people

    Only the individuals you invite to the subfolder will have access to it.

    Important: This option is not available when creating subfolders under:

    • The parent Team Folder (e.g., Team Folder A > Subfolder 1)
    • A first-level Team Folder subfolder (e.g., Team Folder A > Subfolder 1 > Subfolder 2)
      • UNLESS the first-level subfolder has already removed the inherited group

    The option becomes available again at the third-level subfolder.

    However, there is a workaround for mirroring the Only specific people option after the first or second-level subfolder is created:

    1. Create the first or second-level subfolder.
    2. Click Share folder in the top right.
    3. Enter the email address of the person or group with whom you'd like to share in the field provided, and select them from the drop-down results.
    4. Select Can edit or Can view if available.
    5. Click Share.
    6. Click Everyone with access to [Team Folder Name] under "Who has access."
    7. Click Remove inherited members and click Remove to confirm.
      • Dropbox may fail to remove them the first time. If that happens, repeat steps 6 and 7 until they are removed.
      • If you complete this step first before sharing with your intended collaborators, Dropbox will automatically add back all Team Folder members.
      • If you would like to add them back after removal, click the sharing field and then click Share with everyone in the gray box.

        Dropbox folder sharing dialog, with a red box around "Share with everyone" option

Team Folders

An MCommunity group manages all Team Folder access and membership at the parent level. This means that individuals cannot be the sole parent-level managers.

For more information on Dropbox Team Folders, refer to Team Folders in U-M Dropbox.

Permissions

There are two levels of access you, as an owner, can grant a collaborator in U-M Dropbox: Can view (viewer) and Can edit (editor). The chart below includes what each role can and can't do with shared folders (and files).

Note: You cannot assign the Can edit permission at the file level in U-M Dropbox unless the files are web-based, like Microsoft Word documents. All files are Can view unless Can edit access is given at the folder level in which the file resides.

 OwnerCan edit (Editor)Can view (Viewer)
View folder contentsYesYesYes
View folder members and their rolesYes

 

YesYes
Comment on files in the folderYes

 

YesYes
Download folder contents (if not disabled)YesYesYes
Email membersYesYesYes
Leave the folderYes

 

YesYes
Edit folder contentsYesYesNo
Invite and remove membersYesYesNo
Change the roles of other membersYesYesNo
Cancel invites and re-invite membersYesYesNo
Make another member the ownerYesNoNo
Determine who can be invited to the folderYesNoNo
Determine who can manage membership of the folderYesNoNo
Move shared folders into Team FoldersYesNoNo
Unshare the folderYesNoNo

Additional Resources

Last Updated
Monday, August 10, 2026