MCommunity Directory Group Expiry Policy

This document describes the renewal and expiry policies for groups in the MCommunity Directory.

Policy Summary

Diagram of the group expiry process

When a group is created, its expiration is set to a year from the date of creation. If the group is still effective or active at that point, the group owner(s) must renew it.

Groups that are not renewed before the expiry date will be "deactivated" — no entry or activity will be possible within the group. An expired group remains in the directory in a deactivated state for one year. During that time, the group owner(s) can renew it. Expired groups are deleted from the directory one year after they expire, unless they are renewed.

Group Expiration Steps

  1. When a group is created, it is set to expire one year from the date of creation.

    Group owners can renew the group at any time. See the Renewing Groups section of Managing Groups that You Own in the MCommunity Directory for renewal instructions.

  2. Thirty days before a group should expire, an email renewal notice is sent to the owner(s) through email. The text of the 30-day notice is provided at the end of this document (Appendix).

    • Uniqname group owners must have a valid mail forwarding address in their directory entry in order to receive renewal notices.

    • If the owner is a group itself, members of the owning group will receive the renewal notice. If your owning group has restricted who can send email to it, add purge@umich.edu as a permitted sender to receive renewal notices for groups it owns.

  3. A group owner can then choose any of these options:
  1. On the day a group expires, a final renewal reminder notice is sent to the owner(s) through email. Group owners must have a valid mail forwarding address in their directory entry in order to receive renewal notices.

  2. The group is deactivated on its expiration date. Deactivated groups no longer work. Mail sent to a deactivated group will be returned to the sender. If a deactivated group is used to control authorization (for access to a website or wiki), the authorization will fail. The group's directory entry will be marked "deactivated."

    The text of the 0-day notice is provided in the Appendix.

  3. The group will remain in the directory in a deactivated state for one year. The owner(s) can renew it during this time. After one year, if it is not renewed, it will be deleted from the directory. Once it is deleted, it cannot be retrieved or renewed. The text of the deletion notice is provided in the Appendix.

Note: If a group owner is no longer maintaining a group that is still needed by its members, the members of that group can request ownership so that it can be renewed and maintained. Group members who wish to become owners of otherwise abandoned groups can contact the ITS Service Center.

Appendix: Text of the 30-Day, 0-Day Renewal Reminder, and Moved to Trash Notices

30-Day Renewal Reminder

From: <4HELP@umich.edu>
Date: <date sent will appear here>
Subject: In 30 days, your MCommunity Directory group(s) will expire
To: <your e-mail address will appear here>

One or more of your MCommunity groups will expire on [date]:

  • [groupname with link to group profile]
  • [group2] etc.

If you are still using your groups, you can renew them on the Trash tab to prevent their expiration and eventual deletion.

More information on group expiration.

0-Day Renewal Reminder

From: <4HELP@umich.edu>
Date: <date sent will appear here>
Subject: Your MCommunity group(s)expired
To: <your e-mail address will appear here>

Some of your MCommunity group(s) have expired and will be permanently deleted on [date]:

  • [groupname with link to group profile]
  • [group2] etc.

Most group functionality has been deactivated, including delivery email to group members. If you are still using your groups, you may recover them on the Trash tab.

More information on group expiration and deletion.

Moved to Trash Notice

Your MCommunity group was recently deactivated: [Groupname]

  • deactivated by uniqname
  • Will be permanently deleted on [date]

Deactivated groups are not fully functional and will not deliver email to group members.If you still need your group, you can recover it on the Trash tab before it is permanently deleted.

More information on deactivated groups.

Last Updated: 
Thursday, December 8, 2022