The Canvas Course Manager tool allows U-M instructors and users in specific roles to:
- Add sections to an existing Canvas course
- Add non-UM external users to a Canvas course
You can find step-by-step instructions on using the Course Management tool by opening the tool and clicking Help in the tool's window.
The Course Management tool is not visible to students (i.e., it does not appear in the left hand navigation for them). You can verify this if you like by checking Student View for your course.
Only U-M uniqname holders can use the Canvas Course Management tool.
Adding sections to your Canvas course
To add a section to a Canvas course, your department must have included you as an official instructor (Primary Instructor, Secondary Instructor, Graduate Student Instructor, or Faculty) for the class in MPathways.
Removing a section
If you need to completely remove a section from all your courses, contact the ITS Service Center, 4HELP@umich.edu
Sections where you’re not the instructor of record
If your department hasn’t included you as in instructor on a particular section, contact contact the ITS Service Center, 4HELP@umich.edu to have the section added to your course.
Canvas administrators cannot use CCM to combine sections (unless they are an official instructor of the class in M-Pathways).
Adding non-UM external users to your Canvas course
To add external users, you must have an appropriate course role in Canvas (Teacher, TA, Assistant or Designer). Students, Observers and Librarians will not be able to use CCM.
If the person you’re adding has not previously used Canvas at UM, he or she will be sent an email with instructions on how to create a password and with a link to Canvas. You will not receive an email yourself.
No other emails are sent automatically; some instructors choose to send an individual email to the users letting them know they've been added to the course.
To delete someone who was added with the Course Management tool or to change their role, use the Canvas People tool.
Canvas administrators can add non-UM users by first adding themselves to the course in an appropriate role.